Skip to Main Content
Databases
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized collection of American newspapers from 1777-1963.
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS) is a database containing information about the men who served in the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War. Other information on the site includes histories of Union and Confederate regiments, links to descriptions of significant battles, and selected lists of prisoner-of-war records and cemetery records, which will be amended over time. The CWSS is a cooperative effort between the National Park Service and several public and private partners whose goal is to increase Americans' understanding of this decisive era in American history by making information about it widely accessible.
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
is a free, public database of 613,458 (and growing) records from the historical slave trade. The records provide information for people (slave owners as well as slaves), events, places, and sources. The site is a central, online location allowing researchers to search for individual enslaved people around the globe.
Family Search
Large collection of genealogical documents from around the world. Provided for free by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Find a Grave
Millions of entries from cemeteries all over the world, often including headstone photos, personal descriptions, photos and obituaries, GPS coordinates, and links to other relatives. It can be searched by cemetery name and by surname.
Texas Resources
Cross Timbers Historic Images Project
A collection of 19th and 20th century historic images from the Cross Timbers area of Central Texas, including but not limited to Erath County, Hamilton County, Hood County, Somervell County, Palo Pinto County, Comanche County, and Eastland County.
Eastland County, Texas, cemetery inscriptions
Book with Digital Images collected and compiled by Shirley Brittain Cawyer and Weldon I. Hudson
Erath County, Texas, cemetery inscriptions
Book with Digital Images collected and compiled by Shirley Brittain Cawyer and Weldon I. Hudson
Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)
TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public.
Texas General Land Office Land Grant Search
The Land Grant Database contains a listing of original land grants filed in the Archives of the Texas General Land Office. Original land grants are defined as grants of land issued by the sovereign of the soil—that is, one of the governments of Texas: Spain, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, and the State of Texas.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission: Genealogy Resources
The Genealogy Collection at the Texas State Library and Archives Commission includes vital statistics indexes, city directories, county records, publications such as printed family and county histories, a variety of Texas government records, federal census schedules and many other resources to help you compile your family history.
