LibGuides: African American Studies : Juneteenth

Introduction

Juneteenth is the oldest nationally celebrated commemoration of the ending of slavery in the United States.

From its Galveston, Texas origin in 1865, the observance of June 19th as the African American Emancipation Day has spread across the United States and beyond.

The Juneteenth National Independence Day Act was signed into law on June 17th, 2021, making Juneteenth the newest federal holiday.

"The Emancipation of the Negros" by Thomas Nast (1863). This work is in the public domain.

Videos, Books, and Websites

Juneteenth : a children's story by Opal Lee
ISBN: 9781513684918
Publication Date: 2021
Juneteenth Describes the history and meaning of the holiday known as Juneteenth, and how it is celebrated today.
Call Number: E185.93 .T4 P74 2007
ISBN: 9780736863964
Publication Date: 2006
Juneteenth Texas by Francis Edward Abernethy (Editor); Alan Govenar (Editor); Patrick B. Mullen (Editor) Juneteenth Texas, Publications of the Texas Folklore Society #LIV, received a San Antonio Conservation Society award for the preservation of historic buildings, objects and places relating to the history of Texas and its natural beauty and all that is admirably distinctive of our state, and to educate the public with knowledge of our inherited regional values.
Call Number: GR1 .T4 NO.54
ISBN: 9781574410181
Publication Date: 1996
Seizing Freedom by David Roediger How did America recover after its years of civil war? How did freed men and women, former slaves, react to their newly won freedoms? Building on, criticizing and extending previous historical accounts of the Reconstruction, David Roediger's radical new history finds fresh sources and texts that redefine the idea of freedom after the jubilee. Reinstating ex-slaves' own freedom dreams in constructing these histories, Roediger creates a masterful account of the emancipation, and its ramifications on a whole host of day-to-day concerns for whites and black alike, such as property relations, labor, and gender roles.
Call Number: E185.2 .R69 2014
ISBN: 9781781686096
Publication Date: 2014
Juneteenth! by Anna Pearl Barrett Contents: Beginnings -- A big surprise -- Danger lurks -- Time to get ready -- The big day arrives -- Celebration and remembrance -- Harrison Barrett : “He casted a mighty long shadow” the author tells the story behind the story.
Call Number: F394 .G2 B35 1999 EB
ISBN: 9780585164748
Publication Date: 1999-01-01

African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection "African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA).
Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs The William A. Gladstone Collection of African American Photographs provides almost 350 images showing African Americans and related military and social history. The Civil War era is the primary time period covered, with scattered examples through 1945.
National Archives Safeguards Original 'Juneteenth' General Order On June 19, 1865, two and a half years after President Abraham Lincoln’s historic Emancipation Proclamation, U.S. Maj. Gen. Gordon Granger issued General Order No. 3, which informed the people of Texas that all enslaved people were now free.
Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories The recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-three interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement.