LibGuides: Biology: Books

Use Global Search

Finding Books

The library's catalog is one of the best places to start your search for books on your subject. Unlike Discovery, it does not include journal articles in its results.

We use the Library of Congress (LC) classification system, which arranges library materials by subject. Here are a few Biology-related LC call number ranges:

QD415 - QD436 - Biochemistry
QH - Natural History, Biology
QK - Botany
QL - Zoology
QM - Human Anatomy
QP - Physiology
QR - Microbiology

If we don't have the book you need, try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan!

Featured Books

How to Tame a Fox (and Build a Dog) by Lee Alan Dugatkin; Lyudmila Trut
Call Number: SF405 .F8 D84 2017
ISBN: 9780226444185
Publication Date: 2017-03-23
Some Assembly Required by Neil Shubin
Call Number: QH325 .S544 2020
ISBN: 9781101871331
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Mushrooms of the Gulf Coast States by Alan E. Bessette; Arleen F. Bessette; David P. Lewis
Call Number: QK605.5 .G85 B47 2019
ISBN: 9781477318157
Publication Date: 2019-07-15

Ebooks

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Reference ebooks covering art and music, business, geography, history, literature and language, medicine, religion, and science.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas and languages.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window eBooks from leading university, academic, and professional publishers available through the EBSCOhost platform.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window Downloadable e-books, audiobooks, and streaming videos available for checkout. Includes fiction and non-fiction titles across a range of genres.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly journals and books with research in areas such as biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and more.
Taylor and Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window Contains open access and licensed eBooks for a variety of subjects including criminology, communication disorders, psychology, sport and exercise science, etc.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Contains scholarly journals, reference works, and ebooks on a wide range of disciplines.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including the Tarleton Libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records representing 400 languages.