Use this search box to find physical books, eBooks, and other items in the library's collection.
Geography & GIS materials (books, etc.) in the library are typically found in these call number ranges:
| G | Geography (General) |
| G 1000-3122 | Atlases |
| G3180-9980 | Maps |
| GA | Mathematical Geography. Cartography |
| GB | Physical Geography |
| HT 165.5-169.9 | City Planning |
Geographies of the 2020 US Presidential Election by
This timely, insightful and expert-led volume interprets the 2020 U.S. Presidential Election from a geographical standpoint, with a focus on its spatial dimensions. With contributions from leading thinkers, this book highlights the unique circumstances of the election, including the Covid pandemic and a president who falsely alleged that it was a massive fraud, particularly after he lost. The volume offers an introduction and 11 chapters that examine the run-up to the election, the motivations of Trump supporters, the election results themselves, case studies of the battleground states of Wisconsin and Georgia, and the chaotic aftermath. Accompanied with an engaging plethora of figures providing a visual demonstration of data trends, both national and local case studies are considered throughout this book, as well as right-wing radicalization, the role of Cuban-Americans, race, and threats to American democracy. This book is an ideal study companion for faculty and graduate students in fields including geography and political science, sociology, American studies, media studies and urban planning, as well as those with an interest in U.S. politics more generally.
Islamic Maps by
Spanning the Islamic world, from ninth-century Baghdad to nineteenth-century Iran, this book tells the story of the key Muslim map-makers and the art of Islamic cartography. Muslims were uniquely placed to explore the edges of the inhabited world and their maps stretched from Isfahan to Palermo, from Istanbul to Cairo and Aden. Over a similar period, Muslim artists developed distinctive styles, often based on geometrical patterns and calligraphy. Map-makers, including al-Khwārazmī and al-Idrīsī, combined novel cartographical techniques with art, science and geographical knowledge. The results could be aesthetically stunning and mathematically sophisticated, politically charged as well as a celebration of human diversity. 'Islamic Maps' examines Islamic visual interpretations of the world in their historical context, through the lives of the map-makers themselves. What was the purpose of their maps, what choices did they make and what was the argument they were trying to convey? Lavishly illustrated with stunning manuscripts, beautiful instruments and Qibla charts, this book shows how maps constructed by Muslim map-makers capture the many dimensions of Islamic civilisation, providing a window into the worldviews of Islamic societies.
Researching Geography by
This book is a one-stop comprehensive guide to geographical inquiry. The volume: traces the step-by-step account of the whys and the hows of research methodology; introduces complexities of the geographical perspective, selection of research topic, choice of supervisor and formulation of research proposal; fine-tunes the sequence of data collection, analysis, representation and interpretation, and spells out the skill of writing research with geographic flavour; and reinforces concepts and ideas with examples so as not to leave any scope for ambiguity. The second edition updates on the variety of emerging perspectives in geographic research, use of spatial technologies in practice, sampling at different spatial levels and insightful interpretation of data. Lucid, engaging and accessible, this book will be an essential companion for researchers and students of geography, social sciences and South Asian studies.
Geographies of New Caledonia by
This open access book provides a unique overview of geographical, historical, political and environmental issues facing the French overseas territory New Caledonia, also called "Kanaky" by the indigenous Kanak people, who outnumber citizens of European and other origin. New Caledonia has seen a long and complex struggle for decolonization, but is still on the United Nations' list of "Non-Self (read more)
GIS and Housing by
GIS and Housing: Principles and Practices discusses one of the challenges that has not been addressed by Geographic Information Science thus far: how can we use GIS to deal with the complex issues underlying the housing crisis? This book pro-vides GIS technicians and analysts with an overview of US housing challenges and examples of how to effectively integrate spatial thinking to address housing policy questions, while simultaneously introducing housing policy analysts to advanced GIS concepts and techniques to create livable neighborhoods that include housing alternatives beyond the single family. Through numerous examples, the authors advocate for a collaborative approach that encourages professionals, policymakers, and analysts, across different ideological and political perspectives, to confront the multifaceted housing crisis.
Volunteered geographic information by
This open access book includes methods for retrieval, semantic representation, and analysis of Volunteered Geographic Information (VGI), geovisualization and user interactions related to VGI, and discusses selected topics in active participation, social context, and privacy awareness. It presents the results of the DFG-funded priority program "VGI: Interpretation, Visualization, and Social Computing" (2016-2023).
The book includes three parts representing the principal research pillars within the program. Part I "Representation and Analysis of VGI" discusses recent approaches to enhance the representation and analysis of VGI. It includes semantic representation of VGI data in knowledge graphs; machine-learning approaches to VGI mining, completion, and enrichment as well as to the improvement of data quality and fitness for purpose. Part II "Geovisualization and User Interactions related to VGI" book explores geovisualizations and user interactions supporting the analysis and presentation of VGI data. When designing these visualizations and user interactions, the specific properties of VGI data, the knowledge and abilities of different target users, and technical viability of solutions need to be considered. Part III "Active Participation, Social Context and Privacy Awareness" of the book addresses the human impact associated with VGI. It includes chapters on the use of wearable sensors worn by volunteers to record their exposure to environmental stressors on their daily journeys, on the collective behavior of people using location-based social media and movement data from football matches, and on the motivation of volunteers who provide important support in information gathering, filtering and analysis of social media in disaster situations.
The book is of interest to researchers and advanced professionals in geoinformation, cartography, visual analytics, data science and machine learning.
Provides detailed tutorials to easily apply most of the available validation techniques in open access GIS software
Shows detailed review of LUC data currently available at global and continental scales
Freely available to all readers, this book is open access