Use Global Search to find books and articles on your research topic!
Find Accounting books with these LC Call Numbers:
Effective Writing: a handbook for accountants by
For courses in Intermediate Accounting, Accounting, Business Communication, and Technical Writing This useful guide covers all stages of the writing process-planning, critical thinking, generating and organizing ideas, writing the draft, revising, and designing for presentation. With an emphasis on coherence, conciseness, and clarity as the most important qualities of the writing done by accountants, it guides readers through the essential skills, highlights aspects of communication that can enhance writing skills, provides material on research, shows how to write for the workplace, and includes coverage of the ethics of communication.
Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review 2014 Study Guide by
Everything today's CPA candidates need to pass the CPA Exam Published annually, this Regulation volume of the comprehensive four-volume paperback reviews all current AICPA content requirements in business environment and concepts. Many of the questions are taken directly from previous CPA exams. With 2,800 multiple-choice questions in all four volumes, these study guides provide all the information candidates need to master in order to pass the computerized Uniform CPA Examination. Its unique modular format helps you zero in on those areas that need more attention and organize your study program. Complete sample exam The most effective system available to prepare for the CPA exam-proven for over thirty years Timely-up-to-the-minute coverage for the computerized exam Contains all current AICPA content requirements in business environment and concepts Unique modular format-helps candidates zero in on areas that need work, organize their study program, and concentrate their efforts Comprehensive questions-over 2,800 multiple-choice questions and their solutions in the four volumes Guidelines, pointers, and tips-show how to build knowledge in a logical and reinforcing way Other titles by Whittington: Audit Sampling: An Introduction, Fifth Edition Wiley CPA Exam Review 2014 arms test-takers with detailed outlines, study guidelines, and skill-building problems to help candidates identify, focus on, and master the specific topics that need the most work.
University Finances by
An essential and comprehensive guide to university finances. In University Finances, higher education expert Dean O. Smith * demystifies basic accounting procedures, budgets, debt financing, and financial statements * explores more unusual financial topics, such as methods for calculating fringe benefit rates, bond refunding costs, and indirect cost allocations * shows that the use of university wealth is highly restricted by donors, bondholders, government regulators, and others * answers nuanced questions, like "How are USDA formula funds calculated?" and "Why does the university pursue more and more research funding when it loses money on every grant?" * illustrates financial calculations using realistic examples Some of these explanations are unavailable in print or online to anyone but a handful of professional accountants. Rigorous, detailed, and wide-ranging, University Finances is a unique and powerful resource.
Social Compliance Accounting by
This book covers key discussions involving major US and European multinational companies (MNCs) that source products from suppliers in developing countries. Due to the transfer of production from developed to developing nations, there is an urgent need to establish social compliance as a new form of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and a means by which MNCs can meet expected social standards. The cases described are internationally relevant and can be seen to reflect or represent the behavior of many MNCs and their suppliers in developing nations. The discussion offers essential insights into how different levels of social compliance risk and pressure (including broader stakeholder concerns) move managers to adopt or embrace particular social compliance accounting, reporting and auditing strategies. The book will help readers to understand the major concerns, challenges and dilemmas faced by management in the supply chains of MNCs, and proposes measures that can be taken to resolve those dilemmas. Most importantly, it develops a systematic method of assessing the social compliance performance of suppliers to MNCs. This includes highly detailed accounts of the social compliance performance of suppliers within the clothing industry (in a developing nation) that supply goods to the extensive US and European markets. The book offers a valuable guide, not only for corporate managers but also for practitioners, researchers, academics, and undergraduate and postgraduate business students.
Audit Quality by
Arising from the author's experience as a practicing CPA, this book is quite different from other research in this field, as it confronts the subject of audit quality from a pragmatic perspective. The first goal of Jonas Tritschler is to develop an audit quality metric on national audit firm level. Financial reporting errors, as detected by the German enforcement institutions during examinations, which subsequently are published in the German Federal Gazette by the involved companies, are the data basis for this measurement. Using the developed audit quality metric, the second goal of this study is to analyze audit quality differences of selected audit firms by comparing their deployed audit input factors such as employee's competence (ratio of certified professionals to total audit staff), experience of employees (average tenure of employees in years) and client-specific experience (client fluctuation rate). Results indicate a correlation between audit quality according to the developed metric and the operationalized audit input factors mentioned above.
True Cost Accounting for Food by
This book explains how True Cost Accounting is an effective tool we can use to address the pervasive imbalance in our food system. Calls are coming from all quarters that the food system is broken and needs a radical transformation. A system that feeds many yet continues to create both extreme hunger and diet-related diseases, and one which has significant environmental impacts, is not serving the world adequately. This volume argues that True Cost Accounting in our food system can create a framework for a systemic shift. What sounds on the surface like a practice relegated to accountants is ultimately a call for a new lens on the valuation of food and a new relationship with the food we eat, starting with the reform of a system out of balance. From the true cost of corn, rice and water, to incentives for soil health, the chapters economically compare conventional and regenerative, more equitable farming practices in and food system structures, including taking an unflinching look at the true cost of cheap labour. Overall, this volume points towards the potential for our food system to be more human-centred than profit-centred and one that has a more respectful relationship to the planet. It sets forth a path forward based on True Cost Accounting for food. This path seeks to fix our current food metrics, in policy and in practice, by applying a holistic lens that evaluates the actual costs and benefits of different food systems, and the impacts and dependencies between natural systems, human systems, agriculture and food systems. This volume is essential reading for professionals and policymakers involved in developing and reforming the food system, as well as students and scholars working on food policy, food systems and sustainability.
The Small Business Start-Up Kit by
Your one-stop guide to starting a small business Want to start a business? Don't know where to begin? Start here. The Small Business Start-Up Kit shows you how to set up a small business in your state, quickly and efficiently clearing state and local bureaucratic hurdles along the way. We'll show you how to: * choose between an LLC and other business structures * write an effective business plan * pick a winning business name and protect it * hire and manage staff * comply with legal and tax issues affecting home businesses * price, bid, and bill your projects * manage finances and taxes * get your website up and running, and * market your business effectively, online and off. The 9th edition is completely updated, with the latest legal and tax rules affecting small businesses, and use of social media to promote your brand and drive website traffic.