DLD and Me by
Despite an increasing awareness of Developmental Language Disorder, there are very few tools available to help people understand and live with a diagnosis of DLD. DLD and Meis a functional, engaging resource for children and young people with DLD and the professionals and families that work with them. The book consists of an easy-to-follow, 12-week programme designed to help children and young people understand their strengths, what makes them different, what DLD is and how they can support their own communication in everyday life. Key features include: clearly worded session plans for therapists or education staff to follow; engaging visual resources to accompany the session plans, each available to photocopy and download; home sheets to keep families involved and informed; information sheets and training plans for parents and education staff; outcome measures to evaluate progress. This invaluable tool has been designed to be used by Speech and Language Therapists, teachers and other professionals or parents working with children and young people with DLD.
Handbook of Childhood Psychopathology and Developmental Disabilities Assessment by
​This handbook describes evidence-based methods of assessing psychological, educational, behavioral, and developmental problems in children and adolescents. It provides state-of-the-art analyses of leading assessment tools and methods. Chapters provide an overview of childhood assessment issues, diagnostic classification systems, interviewing and report writing, traditional assessment tools and methods, such as Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA). In addition, chapters address daily living, academic, and social skills, commonly encountered psychological conditions, and developmental disorders, reviewing definitions and etiology, history of assessment and diagnosis, possible comorbid conditions, and current measures and procedures. The handbook also covers specific childhood disorders that often present assessment challenges in children, such as posttraumatic stress disorder, mood disorders, pain, and feeding and eating disorders. Topics featured in this handbook include: Adaptive and developmental behavior scales. Diagnostic classification systems and how to apply them to childhood problems and disorders. Intelligence testing and its use in childhood psychological assessment. Assessment of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) in persons with developmental disabilities. Self-Injurious behavior in children. Prevalence and assessment of common sleep problems in children. The Handbook of Childhood Psychopathology and Developmental Disabilities Assessment is an essential resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and related therapists and professionals in clinical child and school psychology, pediatrics, social work, developmental psychology, behavioral therapy/rehabilitation, child and adolescent psychiatry, and special education.
Dual Language Development and Disorders by
Part of the Communication and Language Intervention Series One third of young children living in the United States are dual language learners, and the number of bilingual students is on the rise in countries around the world.* Prepare SLPs and educators to support this growing population with the third edition of this bestselling textbook, developed by three influential experts on bilingual language development and aligned with Head Start guidelines on cultural and linguistic responsiveness. Updated with the latest research and recommended practices, this book gives a broad audience of future professionals the clear and comprehensive information they need to promote positive outcomes for young dual language learners and make informed decisions about assessment and intervention when a disorder is present. Readers will get up-to-date guidance on a wide range of key topics, including recognizing the typical stages of second language learning, supporting development in both languages, distinguishing a language delay from a disorder, planning culturally appropriate interventions, addressing reading disorders in bilingual children, and more. New and enhanced student-friendly features make this edition even more engaging and practical, and a robust new package of online support materials will help faculty members use the book effectively in their courses. With the foundational knowledge in this state-of-the-art textbook--also a valuable resource for in-practice SLPs and educators--professionals will be ready to help young dual language learners thrive, both at home and in the classroom. WHAT'S NEW: New chapter on supporting heritage language development in children with immigration backgroundsImportant updates throughout the book on best practices and recent research findings from the fieldUpdated student-friendly features, including learning outcomes at the start of each chapter, tables and figures that illustrate key concepts and research, and Voices from the Field text boxesTwo downloadable parent questionnaires to help SLPs gather critical information when working with culturally and linguistically diverse childrenNew online companion materials: discussion questions and class activities for each chapter, plus a final integrative course project Get a closer look at what's new *Migration Policy Institute (2017)
Use Global Search to find books and articles on your research topic!
Phoniatrics I by
This is the first of two volumes that draw on the specialized insights and extensive clinical experience of phoniatric experts in order to offer a basis for the development of concerted European training standards in phoniatrics, with the goal of guaranteeing a high quality of care for European patients in all age groups. The interdisciplinary character of phoniatrics is mirrored in the inclusion of valuable contributions from a range of other medical and non-medical disciplines. This volume focuses on voice disorders and disorders of language and hearing development. In each case a wide range of particular kinds of communication loss are considered. Basic aspects are fully addressed, and guidance provided on diagnostic methods, differential diagnosis, prevention, treatment/rehabilitation, and prognosis. An introductory section also discusses the fundamentals of phoniatrics. The reader will benefit from numerous color photos and tables as well as supplementary electronic material, including audio and video examples. This book is intended for residents and practitioners in phoniatrics and also for ENT physicians, medical students, logopedists, and speech and language pathologists and therapists.
Supporting Individuals Who Use Augmentative and Alternative Communication by
"Individuals with complex communication needs who use Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) frequently encounter barriers that limit their ability to achieve their full potential in communication and in life. These barriers include access barriers (limitations in the current capabilities of the AAC user or the communication systems that they use) as well as opportunity barriers (e.g., policy, practice, knowledge/skill, and attitude barriers that extend beyond the AAC user). It is essential to consider both access and opportunity barriers when designing systems and supports for individuals who use AAC. However, often the emphasis of research and practice is on addressing issues related to access barriers with far less attention to opportunity barriers. This is the first book to focus specifically on practical strategies for breaking down opportunity barriers experienced by individuals who use AAC"--
Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders by
Fully revised and updated, Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Second Edition is an accessible and engaging introductory resource for students new to communication sciences and disorders. This text covers foundational information about speech disorders in both children and adults, while numerous case scenarios and personal stories paint a vivid picture of speech-language pathology. A robust, full color art program illustrates key concepts with detailed anatomical images, photos, and helpful charts and tables. Additionally, this text addresses multicultural issues as well as the emotional and social effects of each disorder on the individual and family, providing students with a comprehensive overview of the profession. KEY SECOND EDITION UPDATES* NEW Videos depicting a variety of disorders in a real clinical setting, including assessment and therapy* Numerous 2015-2017 references to national and international journals, with an emphasis on evidence-based practice* Expanded chapter on Motor Speech Disorders in Children (Childhood Apraxia of Speech and Childhood Dysarthria)* NEW chapter on Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorders and Auditory Processing Disorders* NEW chapter on Autism Spectrum Disorders and Developmental Disabilities* NEW chapter on Traumatic Brain Injury in Children* NEW chapter on Cognitive-Linguistic Disorders in Adults* Expanded chapter on Swallowing Disorders / Dysphagia* NEW chapter on Essentials of Counseling for Speech-Language Pathologists and AudiologistsDYNAMIC TECHNOLOGY SOLUTIONIncludes Navigate 2 Advantage Access with:- Comprehensive and Interactive eBook- Videos depicting each disorder- Student practice activities- Robust Instructor Resources:o Test Bank with Chapter Quizzes, Midterm and Final Examso Lecture Outlineso Slides in PowerPoint Formato Gradebook and Reporting Analytic