These books are recommended by the Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer as exam references within their study plan.
Please note! Some of these books are older editions of the suggested reading.
A Massage Therapist's Guide to Pathology by
This Second Edition textbook and reference tool is thoroughly updated. It presents a wide variety of diseases and conditions seen by students and practitioners, and discusses how massage may or may not fit into the healing process. New features include integration of additional artwork with color plate enhancement, an increased amount of case studies and personal stories, and current developments in pathology in relation to the context of massage therapy as well as other types of bodywork. Topics covered each fall under sub-heading listings: definition, signs and symptoms, etiology, and the application of massage therapy as a treatment modality option, and more. Connection Website: connection.LWW.com/go/werner.
Advanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured by
The foundation for EMS education was established in 1971 when the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) authored the first emergency medical technician textbook. Since then, the AAOS has set the gold standard for EMS training programs with the Orange Book Series. This Second Edition, based on Intermediate Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, raises the bar even higher with world-class medical content and innovative instructional resources that meet the diverse needs of today's educators and students. Based on the new National EMS Education Standards for Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, the Second Edition offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking. New cognitive and didactic material is presented, along with new skills and features, to create an innovative AEMT training solution. Topics including advanced pathophysiology, acid-base balance, fluids and electrolytes, intravenous therapy, intraosseous access, blood glucose monitoring, and administration of AEMT-level medications tailor this textbook to the new Advanced EMT level. Additional online skills allow this textbook to be customized for every AEMT training program's unique needs. Current, State-of-the-Art Medical Content Advanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, Second Edition incorporates up-to-date, evidence-based medical concepts to ensure that students are taught assessment and treatment modalities that will help patients in the field today. Advanced Pathophysiology Advanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, Second Edition provides a solid foundation in pathophysiology--one of the key knowledge areas required to become a successful Advanced EMT. Patient Assessment This Second Edition teaches and reinforces the concept of Patient Assessment with a single, comprehensive chapter, ensuring that students understand patient assessment as a single, integrated process--the way that providers actually practice it in the field. Each medical and trauma chapter reinforces the patient assessment process by highlighting the unique aspects of the illness or injury. Clear Application to Real-World EMS Through evolving patient case studies in each chapter, the Second Edition offers students a genuine context for the application of the knowledge presented in the chapter. This approach makes it clear how all of the information will be used to help patients in the field..
Athletic Training and Sports Medicine: an Integrated Approach by
Written in cooperation with the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS), Athletic Training and Sports Medicine: An Integrated Approach, Fifth Edition is a multi-purpose, multi-course text that emphasizes the post-injury management techniques used by athletic trainers and physicians in management of orthopaedic injuries. This classic text has been re-titled to more accurately reflect the topical coverage of injury management and care. Richly illustrated and full of evidence-based practice, this text describes surgical techniques and their implications on rehabilitation/activity and captures the totality of injury management including: pathology, immediate management, diagnostic imaging, definitive and differential diagnosis, medical management, medications, surgical intervention, post-injury and/or post-surgical management, and rehabilitation. Athletic trainers are well educated on how to evaluate, manage, and rehabilitate athletic injuries. However, no other mainstream textbook describes what is involved with common surgical procedures and how those procedures affect the treatment and rehabilitation process and the eventual return to activity. Athletic Training and Sports Medicine: An Integrated Approach serves as a primary reference to tie it all together.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
The gold standard of excellence for 25 years, Frank H. Netter, MD's Atlas of Human Anatomy offers unsurpassed depictions of the human body in clear, brilliant detail - all from a clinician's perspective. With its emphasis on anatomic relationships and clinically relevant views, Dr. Netter's work provides a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine today. View anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of medical and healthcare students and professionals who rely on Netter to optimize learning and clarify even the most difficult aspects of human anatomy. Comprehensive labeling uses the international anatomic standard terminology, Terminologia Anatomica, and every aspect of the Atlas is reviewed and overseen by clinical anatomy and anatomy education experts. Consulting Editors include: John T. Hansen, PhD; Brion Benninger, MD, MS; Jennifer Brueckner-Collins, PhD, Todd M. Hoagland, PhD, and R. Shane Tubbs, MS, PA-C, PhD. Explore additional unique perspectives of difficult-to-visualize anatomy through all-new paintings by Dr. Carlos Machado, including breast lymph draina≥ the pterygopalantine fossa; the middle ear; the path of the internal carotid artery; and the posterior knee, plus additional new plates on arteries of the limbs and new radiologic images. Master challenging structures with visual region-by-region coverage -- including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each Section. Student Consult access includes a suite of interactive tools and guides, including selected images formatted as self-testing exercises; dissection videos; multiple choice questions; illustrated axial cross-sections and scroll-throughs; Key Point Anatomy Guides; additional plates from previous editions; and more.
Clinical Pathology for Athletic Trainers by
Written specifically for athletic trainers, by athletic trainers, the updated Third Edition of Clinical Pathology for Athletic Trainers emphasizes practical knowledge; development of clinical skills, including evaluation and treatment; and development of clinical decision-making abilities. The Third Edition incorporates full-color photos and images to enhance readers' understanding of the common non-orthopedic pathology that may occur in athletes and physically active people. Chapters are organized by body systems and emphasize the clinical presentation, diagnosis, acute care, long-term management, and return to participation criteria for systemic illnesses and injuries. Dr. Daniel P. O'Connor and Dr. A. Louise Fincher have incorporated the competencies from the Athletic Training Education Competencies (5th Edition) that are associated with the non-orthopedic conditions discussed in this unique text. Competencies that are addressed throughout the text are still conveniently listed at the beginning of each chapter in which they are referenced. What's New in the Third Edition: Full-color photos and graphics throughout. Updated head injury screening, evaluation, and return to participation criteria to be consistent with current recommendations. Integration of up-to-date NATA Position Statements and Consensus Statements throughout. Online lab manual for the development of the psychomotor skills required to evaluate the described medical conditions. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. New Lab Activities: Use of nebulizer in the treatment of asthma. Administration of therapeutic oxygen. Use of pulse oximeter for measuring oxygen saturation. With expanded discussions and case studies, a new online lab manual, and an emphasis on the development of clinical skills, the Third Edition of Clinical Pathology for Athletic Trainers: Recognizing Systemic Disease is a must-have for today's athletic training students and clinicians as well as allied health professionals working with athletic or physically active populations.
Concepts of Athletic Training by
Sports medicine continues to be a rapidly evolving field of study. The Sixth Edition of Concepts of Athletic Training focuses on the care and management of sport and activity related injuries while presenting key concepts in a comprehensive, logically sequential manner that will assist future professionals in making the correct decisions when confronted with an activity-related injury or illness in their scope of practice.Chapters have a good mixture of text, tables, and illustrations to make learning easy and fun and the material is presented in a fashion that is succinct yet provides the student with plenty of direction to get more in depth information as needed.
Contemporary Nutrition: a Functional Approach by
Contemporary Nutrition: A Functional Approach is an alternate version of Wardlaw/Smith/Collene’s Contemporary Nutrition, offering a unique approach by organizing vitamins and minerals within the context of physiological functions and the health conditions they influence. Current research is at the core of the fourth edition, with revised statistics, incorporation of new results of clinical trials, and updated recommendations. The text provides students who lack a strong science background the ideal balance of reliable nutrition information and practical consumer-oriented knowledge. Always looking to make the content relevant to learners, the authors highlight health conditions, medications, food products, and supplements students or members of their families may be using. With their friendly writing style, the authors act as the student’s personal guide to dispelling common misconceptions and to gaining a solid foundation for making informed nutrition choices.
Cultural Competence in Sports Medicine by
Cultural Competence in Sports Medicine is a must-have resource for any health care professional who works with athletes and patients of diverse cultural backgrounds. This unique text stresses the importance of recognizing different cultural attitudes, beliefs, and expectations so that athletic trainers and other health care professionals can modify their professional behavior accordingly to reflect their sensitivity to their patients' needs, ultimately resulting in a comfortable and positive health care experience for patients. The need to provide behaviorally competent health care to diverse populations prompted the National Athletic Trainers' Association to identify cultural awareness as a key competency for all certified athletic trainers, including entry-level athletic trainers. Cultural Competence in Sports Medicine supports this objective by defining the concept, explaining why it is important, and using examples specific to athletic trainers and other health professionals working with athletes. The text covers the various cultural competence theories and models, including the process of cultural competence in the delivery of health care services, which serves as a foundational model for the remainder of the text. Because readers will need to understand their own biases before they can begin to change them, the text offers information on analyzing and assessing one's own cultural attitudes and behaviors. Once readers are prepared with that cultural awareness, the text builds cultural knowledge about various racial and ethnic groups, including the origin of culture, common sensitivities and conditions, possible beliefs about illness and preventive healing practices, and providing symptom management and treatments. Cultural Competence in Sports Medicine also presents strategies for engaging in cross-cultural interactions. Readers will learn these factors: * Cultural considerations for each stage in the physical assessment process, including taking an oral history, inspecting, observing, and palpating * How to work through an interpreter to foster clear communication with athletes * The conventional dress code generally expected by different cultures to cultivate a professional atmosphere * Appropriate palpation techniques across cultures so athletes are comfortable with the type and degree of physical contact * The differences in acceptable interaction between male and female clients Activities throughout the text provide opportunities for students to apply their developing cultural awareness and related skills. Role-playing exercises help readers realize and understand their own cultural viewpoints, while thought-provoking "What Would You Do?" sections detail a cultural encounter and encourage the reader to reflect on the situation either individually or through in-class discussion. Each chapter also includes chapter objectives, interviews with professionals, review questions, and key terms to help students comprehend and retain the information presented. Instructors will find an online instructor guide and test package to help them plan and deliver their courses. Cultural Competence in Sports Medicine explores methods of assessinng the overall cultural competence of a health care organization. Whether part of an institutional mission or a personal objective to become more behaviorally competent when working with athletes or patients of diverse cultures, this text will serve as a guide. Readers will begin to understand their own cultural viewpoints and those of others while learning the tools to apply their new cultural awareness in offering more culturally sensitive and supportive health care to their athletes and patients.
Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning by
Now in its third edition, Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioningis the most comprehensive reference available for strength and conditioning professionals. In this text, 30 expert contributors explore the scientific principles, concepts, and theories of strength training and conditioning as well as their applications to athletic performance. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioningis the most-preferred preparation text for the Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) exam. The research-based approach, extensive exercise technique section, and unbeatable accuracy of Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioningmake it the text readers have come to rely on for CSCS exam preparation. The third edition presents the most current strength training and conditioning research and applications in a logical format designed for increased retention of key concepts. The text is organized into five sections. The first three sections provide a theoretical framework for application in section 4, the program design portion of the book. The final section offers practical strategies for administration and management of strength and conditioning facilities. -Section 1 (chapters 1 through 10) presents key topics and current research in exercise physiology, biochemistry, anatomy, biomechanics, endocrinology, sport nutrition, and sport psychology and discusses applications for the design of safe and effective strength and conditioning programs. -Section 2 (chapters 11 and 12) discusses testing and evaluation, including the principles of test selection and administration as well as the scoring and interpretation of results. -Section 3 (chapters 13 and 14) provides techniques for warm-up, stretching, and resistance training exercises. For each exercise, accompanying photos and instructions guide readers in the correct execution and teaching of stretching and resistance training exercises. This section also includes a set of eight new dynamic stretching exercises. -Section 4 examines the design of strength training and conditioning programs. The information is divided into three parts: anaerobic exercise prescription (chapters 15 through 17), aerobic endurance exercise prescription (chapter 18), and periodization and rehabilitation (chapters 19 and 20). Step-by-step guidelines for designing resistance, plyometric, speed, agility, and aerobic endurance training programs are shared. Section 4 also includes detailed descriptions of how principles of program design and periodization can be applied to athletes of various sports and experience levels. Within the text, special sidebars illustrate how program design variables can be applied to help athletes attain specific training goals. -Section 5 (chapters 21 and 22) addresses organization and administration concerns of the strength training and conditioning facility manager, including facility design, scheduling, policies and procedures, maintenance, and risk management. Chapter objectives, key points, key terms, and self-study questions provide a structure to help readers organize and conceptualize the information. Unique application sidebars demonstrate how scientific facts can be translated into principles that assist athletes in their strength training and conditioning goals. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioningalso offers new lecture preparation materials. A product specific Web site includes new student lab activities that instructors can assign to students. Students can visit this Web site to print the forms and charts for completing lab activities, or they can complete the activities electronically and email their results to the instructor. The instructor guide provides a course description and schedule, chapter objectives and outlines, chapter-specific Web sites and additional resources, definitions of primary key terms, application questions with recommended answers, and links to the lab activities. The presentation package and image bank, delivered in Microsoft PowerPoint, offers instructors a presentation package containing over 1,000 slides to help augment lectures and class discussions. In addition to outlines and key points, the resource also contains over 450 figures, tables, and photos from the textbook, which can be used as an image bank by instructors who need to customize their own presentations. Easy-to-follow instructions help guide instructors on how to reuse the images within their own PowerPoint templates. These tools can be downloaded online and are free to instructors who adopt the text for use in their courses. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Third Edition,provides the latest and most comprehensive information on the structure and function of body systems, training adaptations, testing and evaluation, exercise techniques, program design, and organization and administration of facilities. Its accuracy and reliability make it not only the leading preparation resource for the CSCS exam but also the definitive reference that strength and conditioning professionals and sports medicine specialists depend on to fine-tune their practice.
Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training by
As one of the first texts of its kind, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training contains essential information on the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) for students who are working toward certification in athletic training and athletic trainers who wish to stay up to date on best practices in the field. With EBP, all clinical decisions are based on available research studies, and these studies are selected and assessed according to specific criteria that yield evidence of benefit. EBP is a continuing education requirement for athletic trainers who are certified with the Board of Certification (BOC). Grounded in solid science, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training explains the basics of EBP and the research design methods that are so vital to its implementation. Starting in part I, the text introduces the various levels of evidence, well-built question development using the PICO technique (patient problem or population, intervention, comparison, and outcomes), the five steps of searching for evidence, and search techniques. Part II guides readers through researching specific questions and evaluating research studies, including how to incorporate the evidence they find into their clinical practice. Part III reviews the various research types, their uses and benefits, and research ethics as a critical part of the process of EBP. Through these step-by-step chapters, readers will be able to formulate clinical questions, perform research on current studies, analyze the available data, and apply the principles in their practice in order to provide the best and most accurate care possible. In addition to in-depth information on the principles and application of EBP, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training presents clinically based scenarios that allow students to apply their recently acquired knowledge to real-life situations, thus encouraging a deeper understanding of the topics presented throughout the text. These scenarios allow those who are learning EBP concepts for the first time to understand how EBP is incorporated clinically. The most efficient, systematic, and thorough resource of its kind, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training encourages students and current certified athletic trainers to ask meaningful questions, gain the knowledge they need for excelling in future practice, and rise to the top of their profession. For students who want a thorough skill base in EBP and for credentialed health care professionals who seek further knowledge in the area, Evidence-Based Practice in Athletic Training will help all current and future athletic trainers provide the best care for their athletes and clients.
Evidence-Guided Practice by
Athletic trainers must have a foundation in the concepts of evidence-based practice to deliver patient care in an effective way. It is critical that students and clinicians formulate clinical plans that will be effective for individual patients. With that goal in mind, this book teaches the athletic trainer that evidence-based practice concepts must be incorporated into daily clinical practice. Written in a conversational tone, it provides a practical and concise resource for athletic trainers to use when interpreting what the available evidence means for them and how it can be effectively applied in daily patient care. The competencies within athletic training and other health care professions were considered when each chapter was constructed and special care taken to include examples that are specific to athletic training and instructional applications for educators. What Is Inside?: Types of research design. Foundations of research and statistics. Introduction to critical appraisal. Concepts of validity. Diagnostic accuracy. Disablement models. Patient-oriented outcome assessments. Health care informatics. The first of its kind, Evidence-Guided Practice is the only resource athletic training students, clinicians, or other health care professionals will need to properly put evidence-based concepts into practice.
Examination of Musculoskeletal Injuries by
Become proficient in the recognition of musculoskeletal injuries, know when to refer clients to physician care, and grasp all the National Athletic Trainers'' Association (NATA) Athletic Training Educational Competencies related to injury and general medical condition recognition with the completely revised second edition of Examination of Musculoskeletal Injuries.Formerly known as Assessment of Athletic Injuries,this revised textbook gives you all the tools you need in one comprehensive and logical resource. The text, part of Human Kinetics'' Athletic Training Education Series, is an indispensable reference for athletic trainers and other health professionals who spend much of their time caring for injuries related to physical activity and must have a solid background in recognition and examination to do so effectively. Significantly expanded, the new edition now contains 23 chapters, ten more than the first edition, that provide a broad and firm understanding of general examination principles and techniques, recognition and examination of injuries and conditions specific to each body region, and general medical conditions that you will likely encounter in the physically active. Examination of Musculoskeletal Injuries, Second Edition,is divided into three well-organized parts. The first part reviews in detail the general principles and foundational skills for each component of the injury examination. In addition, it includes new content related to general evaluation techniques for goniometric measurement, manual muscle testing, upper and lower quarter screens, posture, and gait. The second part considers examination strategies for the various regions of the body, including each major joint (e.g. elbow, knee, etc); cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spines; head and face; and abdomen and thorax. Each chapter is devoted to a specific body region and is broken down into four segments: functional anatomy and biomechanics; injuries specific to that body region; objective tests including structures for palpation, range of motion testing, strength testing, and special tests; and assessment strategies focusing on acute versus chronic injuries. In the third part, three chapters address general medical conditions that allied health professionals are likely to see in physically active clients and patients. The topics are discussed according to the body systems presented in Athletic Training Educational Competencies(National Athletic Trainers'' Association, 1999). Because examinations of these conditions usually are the physician''s responsibility and require diagnostic tests to identify, the text prepares readers to make appropriate referrals based on a patient''s history and their own observations. The new edition includes many additional features for students, professionals, and instructors: -More than 150 illustrations, 500 photographs, and 110 tables that enable the reader to correctly comprehend the material -A student Web site that includes printable checklists for every phase of injury examination, along with superb full-color photographs of skin ailments that will enhance the reader''s ability to correctly identify the disorder -Pedagogical aids that will assist in learning and retention of crucial material, including chapter objectives and summaries; "warning boxes" and "reminder boxes" highlighting techniques and knowledge crucial to avoiding further injury, permanent disability, or even death; key terms; review and critical thinking questions; a glossary; and references and bibliographical material -An instructor guide and test bank with case studies, course projects, chapter worksheets, sample test questions, and a sample course syllabus to help teachers prepare lectures and exams and organize courses and -A presentation package, heavily weighted toward photographs of objective tests and easily adapted to each instructor''s lecture content and style. Human Kinetics'' Athletic Training Education Series contains five outstanding textbooks, each with its own superb supporting instructional resources. Featuring the work of respected athletic training authorities, the series was created to parallel and expound on the content areas established by the National Athletic Trainers'' Association (NATA) Education Council. Examination of Musculoskeletal Injuries, Second Edition,addresses the content areas of Pathology of Injury and Illness; Assessment and Evaluation; and General Medical Conditions and Disabilities. To learn more about the books in this series, visit the Athletic Training Education Series Web site at www.HumanKinetics.com/AthleticTrainingEducationSeries
Foundations of Athletic Training by
Formerly titled Sports Injury Management, this new edition of this solid textbook is geared particularly to athletic trainers and athletic training students. It uses a problem-solving approach to explain the core information an athletic trainer needs to know including prevention, recognition, assessment, management, and disposition of sports-related injuries and diseases. Features to the new edition include a taping chapter; correlation of the content to the NATA Board of Certification (BOC) Role Delineation Study for exam preparation; additional management algorithms and field strategies; a student study CD-ROM with an anatomy reference and a student study tool; and more. Additional resources are available at the Connection Website.
Healthy Eating Every Day by
A self-paced plan that teaches you how to improve your eating habits in ways that fit your lifestyle. A sensible, fun, step-by-step lifetime plan which works
Management Strategies in Athletic Training by
Athletic trainers require more administrative knowledge than ever before, and Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is designed to help them master that knowledge. The latest edition of this respected text prepares athletic trainers to be successful in any setting and with any clientele. It does so by presenting new material that covers trends and issues that today''s athletic trainers are facing. New to this Edition Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, offers a great deal of new content: * A new chapter on the profession, addressing its history, differentiation between various NATA committees, the evolution of athletic training, and more * A new chapter on professional advocacy that explains how bills become law, the need for advocacy in the profession, the value of youth sport safety legislation, and more * New content on documentation, injury surveillance, NATA position statements, reimbursement and salary issues, and new athletic training CPT codes * A new appendix that lists each state''s scope of practice, board and structure, and regulations for athletic training Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, also includes thoroughly updated content in many areas: * Preparticipation physical exam standards and drug education and testing standards * Emergency planning * Health care financial management * Legal testimony and depositions * Ethical practices in sports medicine * Legal standards * Employment settings * Negotiation skills * OSHA requirements for health care facilities Ancillaries Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, comes with these ancillaries: * An instructor guide that is loaded with useful instructional aids, including student activity suggestions, extra case studies, suggested readings, and a sample syllabus * Chapter quizzes with 183 questions you can use to generate tests and quizzes * An image bank that includes the majority of the figures and tables from the text, which you can use in creating your presentations Text Features At the end of each chapter, you will find two helpful tools: case studies with questions for analysis, which will help students apply concepts and theories to real-world situations, and a key concepts review section that repeats the chapter objectives and shows how the chapter addressed those objectives. The text also provides these pedagogical aids to enhance the student learning experience: * Key words * Pearls of Management sidebars that provide insights that readers will find useful during their careers as athletic trainers * Glossary * Chapter objectives * Sample forms * Key Points (nuggets of practical information) Strong Content for Many Audiences Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is a comprehensive resource for all athletic trainers, meeting the bulk of the discipline-specific content for an entry-level athletic training curriculum. The text is suitable for entry-level students preparing for credentialing and certification, graduate students preparing for credentialing or working toward an advanced degree, athletic training residents seeking to reinforce and apply leadership techniques in their residency, and practicing athletic trainers who want to update their knowledge and skills in athletic training administration. Equipped to Meet Today''s and Tomorrow''s Challenges Management Strategies in Athletic Training, Fifth Edition, is the ideal text to prepare athletic trainers of the future to deal effectively with the many administrative and managerial challenges they will face in an increasingly complex and changing health care environment. Practitioners will find the book''s contemporary approach to addressing today''s management culture very refreshing.
Medical Terminology Simplified by
Medical Language Lab for Medical Terminology Simplified, 5th Edition www.MedicalLanguageLab.com Instant Access - Medical Language Lab: 978-0-8036-4244-7 Access Card - Medical Language Lab: 978-0-8036-4442-7 This programmed learning, word-building approach is ideal for self-paced learning and review or in-class and online instruction! The 5th Edition of this popular textbook continues to incorporate the most current trends and approaches to teaching medical terminology. You'll explore each body system unit through a summary of major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and additional medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork. Online. Interactive. Progressive. The Medical Language Lab is the new, interactive, online program that ensures your students master the language of medicine. Based on proven language methodology, it guides your students step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become confident medical language speakers. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you and your students. Use it with your current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. Customize it to meet the needs of your course. Want to learn more? Explore all the Medical Language Lab has to offer through this video series. Instructors - request preview access and explore Medical Language Lab using this step-by-step walkthrough.
Michlovitz's Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by
A volume in the Contemporary Perspectives in Rehabilitation Series, edited by Steven L. Wolf, PhD, PT, FAPTA. Here's a current, concise, and evidence-based approach to the selection, application, and biophysical effects of therapeutic modalities in a case-based format with a wealth of photographs and figures. The 6th Edition builds and expands on the strengths of previous editions and their focus on expanding and strengthening clinical decision-making skills through a hands-on, problem-solving approach.
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by
Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 3rd Edition is a Clinical Anatomy textbook you will actually "read." A concise, focused and manageable medical reference textbook for your busy lives! The uniquely aesthetic and memorable Netter-style illustrations-accompanied by descriptive text and tables-help you to visually grasp and focus on the most relevant clinical implications of anatomical concepts. Multiple-choice review questions at the end of each chapter plus online access to the complete text-with additional Clinical examples and study questions-result in a thorough but quick introduction to basic and clinical anatomy as well as a fast review source-the perfect supplement to your course's syllabus, lectures, conferences and labs. Enhance your learning and understanding with "Clinical Focus" boxes presenting hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology, and Features and Characteristics boxes that explain the relation between structure and function. Get a quick overview of the MSK system. Muscle/Ligament/Joint Tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Understand the clinical relevance of anatomy. Nearly 600 beautifully colored illustrations which provide essential depictions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Challenge your knowledge. Both USMLE-style review questions at the end of each chapter and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and assess areas in need of further study. Review anywhere, anytime! View the complete contents online, along with additional clinical examples and review questions. Choose where you want to activate your online access: at studentconsult.com, with other titles in other Student Consult library, to further enhance your study and help you prepare for exams.or at netterreference.com, with other content in your Netter clinical references library to enhance clinical management and patient care. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Orthopaedic Rehabilitation of the Athlete by
Prevent athletic injuries and promote optimal recovery with the evidence-based guidelines and protocols inside Orthopaedic Rehabilitation of the Athlete! Practical, expert guidance; a templated, user-friendly format; and online videos of key rehabilitation exercises make this rehab reference ideal for any practitioner working with athletes! "The book makes a useful contribution and may also be useful to novice learners". Reviewed by: Kevin Brownhill, The British School of Osteopathy and osteopath in private practice Date: July 2015 Apply targeted, evidence-based strategies for all internationally popular athletic activities, including those enjoyed by older adults. Ensure optimal care from injury prevention through follow up 2 years post injury. Make safe recommendations for non-chemical performance enhancement. Access the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com, along with downloadable patient handouts, rehabilitation videos, and more.
Orthopedic Clinical Examination by
Orthopedic Clinical Examination With Web Resource provides readers with fundamental knowledge for developing proficiency at performing systematic orthopedic evaluations. Michael P. Reiman, who is internationally respected for his teaching, clinical practice, and research focused on orthopedic assessment and treatment methods, presents an evidence-based guide on the examination process for various parts of the body. The text takes a structured approach, moving from broad to focused, that guides clinicians in examining each client and condition. The text presents specific components of the examination in the same sequence, ensuring repetition and improved consistency in learning. Screenings are used early in the examination sequence not only to determine the appropriateness of performing an orthopedic examination but also to rule out other potential pain generators and thereby narrow the focus of the examination. Orthopedic Clinical Examination emphasizes evidence-based practice and therefore focuses on tests that are clinically relevant, providing students and clinicians with the most appropriate testing options rather than listing tests with no regard for their clinical value. Both treatment-based and pathological-based diagnostic styles are covered in detail so that readers will gain a thorough understanding of both approaches and be able to implement them separately or in tandem. In addition to musculoskeletal testing, the text provides information on including subjective history, observation, diagnostic imaging, systems and neurological screening, and performance-based measures in each examination. The text is organized into five parts and is structured such that readers will first acquire requisite knowledge about anatomy and the examination process before advancing to acquiring specific examination skills. Part I presents information about the musculoskeletal and nervous systems as well as tissue behavior and healing. Part II introduces the principles of the examination sequence. Parts III and IV present the region-specific examination sequence for evaluating clients, including specifics on analyzing the head, spine, and extremities. Each chapter in these two parts covers the anatomy of the region, various types of injuries that occur, specific tests and measures that can be used, and cross-references to specific case studies for further review. Part V highlights additional considerations that may be necessary for special populations during the examination process. Orthopedic Clinical Examination includes learning tools that enhance comprehension and engagement: * Full-color photographs and illustrations demonstrate anatomy, patient conditions, and clinician positioning to serve as a visual reference and ensure proper testing techniques. * A library of 50 videos, found in the web resource, provides students with visual demonstrations of assessments and treatments. * Color-coding graphics throughout chapters help readers quickly discern whether evidence supporting the reported finding is ideal, good, or less than good. * Overviews of common orthopedic conditions for each body region are in the 12 applied chapters. * Twenty-four case studies guide users in the proper questions to ask and steps to take in conducting examinations. * Linkss to abstracts of articles provide additional clinical learning scenarios. With Orthopedic Clinical Examination, current and future clinicians will gain the knowledge and confidence they need in performing examinations to provide optimal patient care.
Postural Correction by
Postural Correction presents 30 of the most commonly occurring postural conditions in a comprehensive format, providing hands-on therapists and body workers the knowledge and resources to help clients address their malalignments. Focusing on treatment rather than assessment, it takes a direct approach and applies specific techniques to improve posture from an anatomical rather than aesthetic perspective. Primarily concerned with the lengthening of shortened tissues to help realign body parts, Postural Correction offers a collective approach to remedying malalignment. Techniques vary for each posture correction, including deep tissue massage, simple passive stretches, soft tissue release, common trigger points, and gentle limb traction. Because weak or poorly functioning muscles may contribute to postural problems, the text notes what muscles need to be strengthened and includes recommendations on techniques. Suggestions also are made for those postures that are difficult to correct with hands-on techniques, such as scoliosis, genu valgum (knock knees), and genu varum (bow legs). Recognizing that the work clients can carry out independently is a crucial component of long-term postural correction, this guide includes information on how clients can continue their therapy independently between or at the conclusion of their therapy sessions. Therapists can take these techniques and recommendations to advise, educate, and guide clients in their efforts. Much attention is paid to lifestyle, activities, and habitual use or resting of a body part that may have led to the initial pain and malalignment. Structured by anatomical regions of the body to make accessing information quick and easy, Postural Correction tackles postural concerns commonly affecting the spine; pelvis; upper limbs, including the shoulder and elbow; and lower limbs, including the hip, knee, ankle, and foot. Examples from various sports and demographics such as the elderly offer contextual and applied value. Descriptions avoid biomechanical jargon and instead focus on simple, clear explanations. Information is also included for when hands-on techniques are limited in correcting a particular posture. Special features make this book unique and useful: * Full-color anatomical illustrations and photographs present a clear visual of what will help bring about postural change. * Consistency with the other titles in the Hands-On Guides for Therapists series ensures that the manual therapies throughout this book are easily accessible. * An overview of each malalignment includes the muscles that are shortened or lengthened, notes about each posture, a bulleted list of ideas grouped according to whether these are carried out by the therapist or the client, and rationale for the suggested corrective techniques. * Concluding comments summarize the information for access at a glance. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education course and exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes all the course materials and exam.
Preventing Sudden Death in Sport and Physical Activity by
Published in Cooperation with the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), Preventing Sudden Death in Sport and Physical Activity examines the etiology, prevention, recognition, treatment, and return-to-play protocol of the common causes of sudden death in sport. Chapters are written by content area experts, offering a blend of clinical, scientific, and research expertise regarding each medical condition that is discussed. Sudden death on the field is a growing concern in sport and physical activity. This groundbreaking text arms readers with the knowledge and skills they need to make the correct decision when confronted with an emergency situation.
Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers by
Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers is designed to help athletic training students understand the basic principles of pharmacology, as well as the broad classification of drugs. Drs. Joel Houglum, Gary Harrelson, and Deidre Leaver-Dunn have created a user-friendly format to help students meet the pharmacology domain outlined in the NATA Competencies in Athletic Training. Over 100 helpful figures and tables help to summarize the information presented and provide clinical examples. Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers begins by detailing the principles of drug action, administering and dispensing drugs, using drug references, medication adverse effects, therapy considerations, and classification of drugs. The pharmacological actions of eight categories of drugs including antibiotics, anti-inflammatory medications, and gastrointestinal medications are examined in the next section. Each drug-specific chapter profiles the biological effects, indications, adverse effects, and the drugs' impact on exercise or how exercise can impact the distribution and availability of drugs. In providing a complete and up-to-date summary of pharmacology, Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers concludes with an overview of performance enhancing drugs and an in-depth analysis of drug testing. Principles of Pharmacology for Athletic Trainers is a unique resource that not only simplifies the broad range of principles and classification of drugs; it also provides specific application information for the athletic trainer. Features Evaluates the role of the athletic trainer within each drug category. Includes examples of the clinical use and effects of drugs from specific pharmacological categories. Advanced organizers are used at the beginning of each chapter to present an overview of the chapter topics. These concept maps or flow diagrams help the visual learner to better understand concepts and the connection between concepts covered in each chapter. Text boxes review important concepts already presented. Tables provide examples of drugs by category.
Rehabilitation Techniques for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training by
Rehabilitation Techniques for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training, Sixth Edition is a comprehensive reference written for the athletic training student who is interested in gaining more in-depth exposure to the theory and practical application of rehabilitation techniques used in a sports medicine environment. Dr. William Prentice and his contributors have collectively combined their expertise and knowledge to produce a single text that encompasses all aspects of sports medicine rehabilitation. This new Sixth Edition provides the athletic trainer with a complete guide to the design, implementation, and supervision of rehabilitation programs for sport-related injuries. Rehabilitation Techniques for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training, Sixth Edition is intended for athletic trainers that deal with practical application of theory in a clinical setting. While a number of texts are available on the subject of rehabilitation of injury in various patient populations, Rehabilitation Techniques for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training, Sixth Edition concentrates exclusively on the application of rehabilitation techniques in a sport-related setting for a unique sports medicine emphasis. New in the Sixth Edition: - All new four color design - More than 650 instructional high-resolution videos corresponding to a particular photograph - Integrated laboratory manual - More than 1,000 full-color images throughout - New terminology to reflect the NATA Educational Competencies Fifth Edition - Ancillary interactive website and instructor's materials available Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. Rehabilitation Techniques for Sports Medicine and Athletic Training, Sixth Edition is the perfect resource for athletic training students, faculty, and clinicians; physical therapists who manage rehabilitation programs for sports-related injuries; as well as for strength and conditioning coaches who supervise performance enhancement programs on return to play.
Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most comprehensive textbook available on therapeutic modalities in rehabilitation - enhanced by a full-color presentation and numerous case studies A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Therapeutic Modalities in Rehabilitation is a theoretically based but practically oriented guide to the use of therapeutic modalities for practicing clinicians and their students. It clearly presents the basis for use of each different type of modality and allows clinicians to make their own decision as to which will be the most effective in a given situation. Presented in full color, the text describes various concepts, principles, and theories that are supported by scientific research, factual evidence, and experience of the authors in dealing with various conditions. * Essential text for Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy programs * Author Bill Prentice was inducted into the National Athletic Trainers Association Hall of Fame in 2004 * Evidenced based and supported by case studies and laboratory activities to demonstrate the application of the modalities on patients
Laboratory Activities for Therapeutic Modalities by
Laboratory Activities for Therapeutic Modalities
Trail Guide to the Body by
By owning Biel's TRAIL GUIDE TO THE BODY, students gain exclusive access to an empowering repository of mostly free study tools. Convenient, easy-to-access palpation videos, overlay images, interactive mobile apps and more are available online for students wherever and whenever they need them.
Athletic Training Clinical Workbook by
A one-of-a-kind workbook for certification exam success!
Waiting in the training room? Have downtime on the field? Take this portable workbook with you wherever you go to confidently prepare for the competencies required by the BOC and meet the challenges you'll face in clinical and practice.
Draw on true-to-life experiences to enhance your critical-thinking and clinical-reasoning skills (read more)
Davis's Drug Guide for Rehabilitation Professionals by
A one-of-a-kind guide specifically for rehabilitation specialists! A leader in pharmacology and rehabilitation, Charles Ciccone, PT, PhD offers a concise, easy-to-access resource that delivers the drug information rehabilitation specialists need to know. Organized alphabetically by generic name, over 800 drug monographs offer the most up-to-date information on drug indications, therapeutic effects, potential adverse reactions, and much more! A list of implications for physical therapy at the end of each monograph helps you provide the best possible care for your patients. It's the perfect companion to Pharmacology in Rehabilitation, 4th Edition!
Documentation for Athletic Training by
Documentation for Athletic Training, Third Edition provides all the important and relevant information that a practicing athletic trainer needs to possess to provide accurate documentation. These topics include legal considerations, electronic medical records, and numerous tips for effective verbal and written communication styles. This Third Edition by Drs. Jeff G. Konin and Margaret Frederick Thompson continues to provide a plethora of standard templates to refer to as examples of the most commonly used forms in athletic training practice settings. The authors represent decades of collective experience as clinicians, educators, and administrators and offer insight on the importance of timely and appropriate methods for athletic training documentation. Documentation for Athletic Training, Third Edition has strengthened chapters on electronic documentation and documentation for reimbursement. These are continuously-evolving areas that require an understanding of not just a single type of software system, but rather a foundation of knowledge related to the principles of each. Additionally, a chapter has been added on contemporary type of documentation. Communication in the forms of text messages, social media, and other common types of information sharing are discussed. Features inside the Third Edition: Learning objectives for each chapter "Pearls of Wisdom" on key points Discussion and study questions Worksheets and commonly used documentation forms Glossary of terms Symbols and medical terminology abbreviations Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Documentation for Athletic Training, Third Edition continues to be the only textbook dedicated to the topic of documentation and presents a wide array of methods and forms, providing students, educators, and clinicians with a multifaceted tool box for their documentation needs.
Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy by
One of the most critical skills that occupational therapists must learn is effective documentation. With that idea in mind, Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy: Writing SOAP Notes, Fourth Edition presents a systematic approach to a standard form of health care documentation: the SOAP note. The clinical reasoning skills underlying SOAP note documentation can be adapted to fit the written or electronic documentation requirements of nearly any occupational therapy practice setting. This new Fourth Edition has been updated to reflect current information essential to contemporary occupational therapy practice, including the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain & Process, Third Edition. Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy, Fourth Edition also includes the COAST method, a specific format for writing occupation-based goals. Crystal Gateley and Sherry Borcherding use a "how-to" strategy by breaking up the documentation process into a step-by-step sequence. Numerous worksheets are provided to practice each individual skill as well as the entire SOAP note process. In addition, examples from a variety of practice settings are included as a reference. Although this text addresses documentation in occupational therapy practice, the concepts can be generalized across other health care disciplines as well. New in the Fourth Edition: -The chapter focusing on reimbursement, legal, and ethical considerations has been vastly expanded to provide an overview of sources of reimbursement, regulatory guidelines, and legal and ethical issues. -A new chapter focusing on electronic documentation has been added to illustrate how the concepts presented in this text can be used in various electronic documentation software products. -Faculty will have access to 12 videos that can be used for instructional purposes and documentation practice. -This edition includes an expanded Instructor's Manual with sample quiz questions for several of the chapters, templates and grading rubrics for documentation assignments, and other instructional resources. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy: Writing SOAP Notes, Fourth Edition presents essential documentation skills that all occupational therapy clinicians, faculty, and students will find critical for assessing, treating, and offering the best evidence available for their clients.
Evidence into Practice by
The first text to provide comprehensive coverage of the three areas integral to evidence-based practice clinical expertise, understanding patient values and circumstances, and analyzing evidence from the literature This integration is the heart of the optimal practitioner-patient relationship and the path to the very best patient care."
Orthopedic and Athletic Injury Examination Handbook by
"Stands on its own as an easy-to-carry reference in the clinic. [Its] strengths... are its clear diagrams and the table format frequently used to present information. Athletic trainers and physical therapists will find this on-the-field or in-the-clinic handbook a useful reference with clear explanations and diagrams."--Advance for Physical Therapists and PT Assistants, review of a previous edition. Tap into easy-to-follow, step-by-step guidance on the evaluation and initial management of specific orthopedic and athletic injuries with the companion to Examination of Orthopedic and Athletic Injuries, 4th Edition. From evaluative procedures for palpation and range of motion through neurologic, ligamentous, and special tests, everything you need now in the lab, and later in the field or in the clinic, is here. It's a terrific preparation tool for the BOC examination, too.
Physical Rehabilitation by
Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career It focuses on the rehabilitation management of adult patients, integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to explain how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, to develop rehabilitation goals, and to implement a treatment plan.
Psychosocial Strategies for Athletic Training by
Be prepared to offer not only the physical rehabilitation regimen injured athletes need, but also the psychological and psychosocial support they need to recover from injuries.
Quick questions in heat-related illness and hydration: expert advice in sports medicine by
Are you looking for concise, practical answers to questions that are often left unanswered by traditional sports medicine references?
Are you seeking brief, up-to-date, expert advice for common issues that can be encountered when working with athletes?
Quick Questions in Heat-Related Illness and Hydration: Expert Advice in Sports Medicine provides a unique format of concise and to the point responses with clinical application, backed by the latest research on heat-related illnesses and hydration issues common among athletes.
Dr. Rebecca Lopez and her contributors present 39 common clinical questions regarding topics such as how much and what kinds of fluids are optimal for performance and preventing illness, how to calculate an individual's sweat rate, and the effect of supplements on hydration.
Co-published with the National Athletic Trainers' Association, Quick Questions in Heat Related Illness and Hydration: Expert Advice in Sports Medicine provides concise answers to 39 frequently asked clinical questions. Written in a conversational tone, the authors of the individual questions represent a variety of different backgrounds and are experts in their respective field. The variety of questions and brevity of responses will make this a book that is easy to read and reference at the point of care.
Quick Questions in the Shoulder by
Are you looking for concise, practical answers to questions that are often left unanswered by traditional sports medicine references?Are you seeking brief, up-to-date, expert advice for common issues that can be encountered when working with athletes?Quick Questions in the Shoulder: Expert Advice in Sports Medicine provides a unique format of concise and to the point responses with clinical application, backed by the latest research on shoulder injuries among athletes.Dr. Kellie C. Huxel Bliven and her contributors present 39 common clinical questions regarding the prevention, assessment, treatment, management, and rehabilitation of the shoulder.Co-published with the National Athletic Trainers' Association, Quick Questions in the Shoulder: Expert Advice in Sports Medicine provides concise answers to 39 frequently asked clinical questions. Written in a conversational tone, the authors of the individual questions represent a variety of different backgrounds and are experts in their respective field. The variety of questions and brevity of responses will make this a book that is easy to read and reference at the point of care.Some sample sections and questions include:* Factors related to shoulder function oHow does the trunk contribute to upper extremity function and injury risk in overhead athletes?* Injury diagnosis o What are the best clinical tests for determining if a patient has scapular dyskinesis and to determine if it is contributing to their shoulder pain and dysfunction?* Injury treatment and rehabilitation o What are the most effective glenohumeral mobilization techniques and when are they most appropriate to use to improve shoulder function and range of motion?* The overhead athlete o What assessments should be used in screening overhead athletes to determine who is at increased risk for injury and what are the most effective injury prevention strategies?Quick Questions in the Shoulder: Expert Advice in Sports Medicine is the perfect at-your-side resource for the athletic trainer, team physician, or sports medicine clinician looking for practical answers to sports-related shoulder injury questions. The concise and conversational tone allows the reader to readily apply the information into their everyday practice.
Sports Emergency Care by
For more than a decade, Sports Emergency Care: A Team Approach has filled a void in athletic training education on the subject of emergency care. Now, this updated Third Edition continues to pave the way to prepare athletic training students beyond traditional first aid training as well as providing specific information on emergency situations in sports for emergency medical services (EMS) professionals.In this updated Third Edition, Dr. Robb S. Rehberg and Dr. Jeff G. Konin, along with their 13 contributors, have created a resource that can be used in athletic training education programs as a core text in a sports emergency care course; a supplemental text in several courses that address immediate care within an athletic training education curriculum; and it can be used by EMS educators in developing continuing education programs for prehospital providers. Some of the topics included in the Third Edition:* Assessment of Sports Emergencies* Cardiovascular Emergencies* Management of Traumatic Brain Injury* Fractures and Soft Tissue Injuries* Managing Mental Health Emergencies* Care of Athletes with Disabilities* Emergencies in Sports for the Aging AthleteRegardless of discipline, it is important for all health care providers caring for ill or injured athletes to be knowledgeable and proficient in managing sports emergencies. This ability can only be achieved through preparation and practice, and Sports Emergency Care: A Team Approach, Third Edition continues to be a groundbreaking text that gives access to the essential resources health care providers need to address sports emergencies. This includes but is not limited to athletic trainers, emergency medical technicians and paramedics, and physicians.
Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals by
Develop the knowledge base you need to integrate the science of nutrition and the latest evidence into your scope of practice. Explore the relevance of sports nutrition to each of the major allied health professions and understand the role it plays in each. Step-by-by, you'll learn about the scientific basis of sports nutrition and how to apply the physiology to real-life situations and interactions with clients.
The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Differential Diagnosis by
As educators, we strive to teach students to think critically and to commit to a diagnosis, the ability to make that commitment is one of the most difficult steps for clinicians in training. With many possible injuries and conditions, and an equally large number of diagnostic elements, a clear and logical method is needed. The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Differential Diagnosis: A Visual Learning Approach provides an approach that helps the reader sort through the possibilities and think about the clinical evaluation within a clinical thinking framework using a visual mapping approach. The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Differential Diagnosis is not designed to be a "how-to" evaluation text. Rather, it is designed to create a framework that allows the reader to think differently about differential diagnoses, access existing knowledge in anatomy and clinical evaluation, and assess information for the purpose of making higher-order clinical decisions. Dr. Andrew P. Winterstein and Sharon V. Clark have organized The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Differential Diagnosis by body part, as well as by location in the body. The reader will be able to examine the possible diagnoses by location and approach the evaluation in a more focused and organized fashion. This method of evaluation also allows the reader the opportunity to apply evidence-based principles to the clinical evaluation process. The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Differential Diagnosis takes a visual learning approach with an emphasis on diagrams, tables, and boxes to illustrate the visual evaluation framework. In addition, each chapter offers a clinical case to provide a springboard for approaching the differential diagnosis process. The Athletic Trainer's Guide to Differential Diagnosis: A Visual Learning Approach will enhance the athletic training student and clinician's critical thinking skills, as well as be an excellent resource for self-assessment and preparation for certification.
Therapeutic Exercise Foundations and Techniques by
Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, Kisner & Colby s6th Editionoffers the most up-to-date exercise guidelines for individualizing interventions for those with movement disorders. Now with contributions from the leading experts in the field, it encompasses all of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy, including spinal surgery and spinal manipulation. This renowned manual remains the authoritative source for exercise instruction for the therapist and for patient self-management."
