Skip to Main Content
Websites
Archives and Special Collections
The Tarleton Libraries' Archives and Special Collections curate and preserve materials relating to the distinctive history of Tarleton State University, Erath County, and the Cross Timbers region of north central Texas. These resources include manuscripts, photographs, rare books and serials, the permanent historical records of Tarleton State University, and local history materials.
Cross Timbers Historic Images Project
A collection of 19th and 20th century historic images from the Cross Timbers area of Central Texas, including but not limited to Erath County, Hamilton County, Hood County, Somervell County, Palo Pinto County, Comanche County, and Eastland County.
Finding Aids
A list of descriptions, or finding aids, to the collections held by the Dick Smith Library’s Archives and Special Collections. The finding aids assist researchers in finding information by describing the creator as well as the materials contained in each collection.
Interactive Historical Timeline
Learn the full story of how a gift from a local rancher evolved into today’s university, how Tarleton became the first university to become part of The Texas A&M University System in 1917, and more.
Purple Book
Learn about all of Tarleton’s vaunted traditions, including the bonfire and the infamous Purple Poo.
Tarleton Collection
The Tarleton Collection is a compilation of photographs that chronicles the history of Tarleton State University. These pictures feature campus landmarks, educational facilities, student organizations, faculty members, and numerous events that have collectively shaped the rich history of the college.
Texan News Service
Delivers news from the Cross Timbers region of Texas. The news service is run by students of Tarleton State University‘s department of communication studies.
