LibGuides: LGBTQ+: LGBTQ+ History

LGBTQ+ Historical Resources

1969: The Year of Gay Liberation (NYPL Exhibit/Archive) Archival information from the New York Public Library's 2009 exhibit, "1969: The Year of Gay Liberation."
2013 Supreme Court Hearings on DOMA/Prop 8 A collection of new articles, blogs, websites, and social media posts related to the 2013 Supreme Court hearings/rulings.
History of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Social Movements And essay from the American Psychological Association, written by Dr. Bonnie Morris of George Washington University.
LGBTQ History Timeline Reference by GLSEN A timeline of LGBTQ history from the second century to present.
LGBTQ Rights Timeline in American History A timeline created for educational purposes to help support California's FAIR Education Act.
Portal to Texas history - LGBT Collections A collection of publications centered on issues relevant to the LGBT community, including The Dallas Voice.

ACT UP Oral History Project A collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York (ACT UP/New York).
AIDS Education Posters This is a digital collection of over 8,000 AIDS education posters held in the University of Rochester's River Campus Libraries Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation.
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony A collection of testimonies from same sex attracted women, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, lesbian, transmen and others.
Digital Transgender Archive The Digital Transgender Archive seeks to expand access to trans history for academics and researchers in order to foster education and dialog.
FBI Records - Gay Activist Alliance FBI documents covering the investigation of the Gay Activist Alliance.
FBI Records - Mattachine Society FBI documents covering the investigation of an early homosexual rights advocacy organization, the Mattachine Society,
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network This network is a digital archives preserving the history and encouraging study of LGBTQ+ religious movements.
Queer Zine Archive Project A digital archive of queer zines from the 1970s to present.