LibGuides: Agricultural Education and Communication: Writing &amp; Citations

Why Cite?

It improves the credibility of your research and helps you avoid plagiarism
Citations give proper credit to the original author/s for their ideas and words.
Allows your readers to find the sources you used in the writing process.

Plagiarism

Remember to always give proper credit to the original works when writing. Plagiarism is a form of academic dishonesty and can have negatively impact on your academic career. Use these resources to learn more about plagiarism and how to avoid it:

Did I Plagiarize? Use this flowchart to better understand the types and severity of plagiarism.
Avoiding Plagiarism Tip Sheet This resource provides information about plagiarism, using resources appropriately, and links to other resources for more information.

Aiming for Integrity: How Well Do You Know Plagiarism? A plagiarism quiz from Turnitin. Quiz results can be emailed.
How to Avoid Plagiarism and Self-Plagiarism Learn how to avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, including how to identify plagiarism, understand its risks and consequences, cite sources properly, and develop sound writing practices. From APA Style CENTRAL © 2016 American Psychological Association. (Note: If the tutorial doesn't load the first time, please try selecting the link again.)

Writing & Format Help

Tarleton's Writing Center The Writing Center is a free support service for students who need assistance in any stage of the writing process.
Tarleton's Tutoring & Learning Center The TLC provides a Writing Lab, which assists students in all courses in brainstorming, drafting, organization, formatting and citation style, revision, and finalization. Students can receive tutoring in person or virtually.
Crossref Struggling to find a DOI? Enter your citation information and Crossref will search for it!

Writing Style Resources

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
Citation guideline sample papers and figures, and interactive tools to help with APA style 7th edition writing and documentation. (Chrome or Firefox recommended)

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines This APA resource provides information on paper format, in-text citations, mechanics of style, and bias-free language.
APA Style Blog Created by the American Psychological Association, this blog answers common questions about using APA Style and provides instructional aids.

APA 7th edition sample student paper A paper formatted for APA 7th edition that also provides commentary to explain the formatting requirements.
APA 7th edition professional paper tips This document provides assistance in identifying the frequent components of a professional APA paper and provides a how-to on adding page numbers and a running header.

MLA Style Center The official website of the Modern Language Association (MLA) Handbook, which provides free resources for students to assist with learning MLA Style.
MLA Format: Everything You Need to Know EasyBib provides an in-depth overview of the different components included in an MLA paper.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online From the Chicago Manual of Style, this website provides tutorials, quick tips, and student resources.
Chicago/Turabian Style Guide from EasyBib Provides introductory information about both the Chicago and Turabian Styles, paper formatting guidelines, and citation tips.

Associated Press Stylebook Online
(requires NTNET log in). The online edition of the AP Stylebook is updated throughout the year. Topical guides and AP Blog also available.
AP Style Blog The official blog of the Associated Press provides information on AP Style, tips, and explanations on their standards.
AP Style Cheat Sheet This resourse provides quick tips on abbreviating words, capitalization, numbers, punctuation and more.

Citation Mangers

Remember, computer generated citations are not perfect. While they are great for saving you some typing, always proof citations pulled from computer resources carefully with your citation manual.

Read this G2 Crowd article to learn more about reference management tools.

BibMe Offers additional features with registration. Creates citations in two ways: auto-fill or using information you type in. Lets users store reference lists after creating accounts. Styles: APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian.
Endnote Web Requires registration. Lets users save, edit, and organize resource information, plus import existing references. Many Tarleton library databases will export source information to EndNote Web. Styles: ACS, APA, APS, ASME, CBE, Chicago, MLA, and citation styles for multiple journals.
Mendeley Requires registration. Lets users import, organize, and add annotations to files, as well as share works with other researchers and collaborate on projects. Generates citations and bibliographies. Offers free download (desktop and app). Styles: ACS, APA, APS, ASME, Chicago, MLA, and citation styles for thousands of journals.
Zotero Requires registration and download. Lets users import PDF files, images, audio and video files, web page snapshots, and more. Indexes file contents to enable searches. Many Tarleton library databases will export source information to Zotero. Styles: ACS, APA, APS, ASME, CBE, Chicago, MLA, and many others. Offers mobile apps.

Purdue Owl Resource links

Purdue OWL General Writing This resource from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides resources on academic writing, formatting, grammar, punctuation, and more.
Purdue OWL Graduate Writing This resource from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides resources on what is expected for writing at the graduate level.
Purdue OWL ESL Writer's Guide This resource from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides writing resources for ESL students.