The Notes and Bibliography system uses a superscript in the narrative paired with a footnote or endnote and a separate bibliography to hold all of the sources cited. The footnote or endnote is very similar to what is written in the bibliography but has a few differences in formatting. Furthermore, if you cite a source again, you can write a shortened version in the footnote/endnote.
Narrative: Although tanks had become an important part of the US Army in World War II, weakness in design and tactical mismanagement often hindered their success.1
Footnote/Endnote: 1. Westin E. Robeson, Buttoned Up: American Armor and the 781st Tank Battalion in World War II (College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2017), 238-239.
Subsequent Footnote/Endnote: 2. Robeson, Buttoned Up, 200.
Bibliography Entry: Robeson, Westin E. Buttoned Up: American Armor and the 781st Tank Battalion in World War II. College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2017.
Below you will find often cited formats with examples for both footnote/endnotes and bibliography entry. Note: The portion in blue is added if the source is digital or online.
| Endnote/ Footnote Format | 8. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), page number. URL if online OR what type of media if Ebook (Kindle, PDF, EPUB, etc.) |
| Example Note | 8. Richard D. Winters, Beyond Band of Brothers (New York: Berkley Caliber, 2006). 52. |
| Bibliography Format | Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. URL if online OR what type of media if Ebook (Kindle, PDF, EPUB, etc.) |
| Bibliography Example | Winters, Richard D. Beyond Band of Brothers. New York: Berkley Caliber, 2006. |
| Endnote/ Footnote Format | 4. Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (Date published): page number, DOI or URL. |
| Example Note | 4. Christine Meisner Rosen and Joel Arthur Tarr, "The Importance of an Urban Perspective in Environmental History," Journal of Urban History 20, no. 3 (May 1994): 300, https://doi.org/10.1177/009614429402000301. |
| Bibliography Format | Lastname, Firstname. "Title of article." Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (date published): page range of article. DOI or URL. |
| Bibliography Example | Rosen, Christine Meisner and Joel Arthur Tarr. "The Importance of an Urban Perspective in Environmental History." Journal of Urban History 20, no. 3 (May 1994): 299-310. https://doi.org/10.1177/009614429402000301. |
| Endnote/ Footnote Format | 1. Firstname Lastname, "Title of Web Page," Name of Website, Publishing Organization, publication date or access date (if no publication date), URL. |
|
Example Note |
1. Evan Bush, "How Hot is Too Hot for Humans?" NBCNews.com, July 11, 2024, https://www.nbcnews.com/science/environment/how-hot-too-hot-humans-record-temperatures-rcna160261. |
| Bibliography Format | Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Web Page." Name of Website. Publishing organization, Publication date or access date (if no publication date). URL |
| Bibliography Example | Bush, Evan. "How Hot is Too Hot for Humans?" NBCNews.com. July 11, 2024. https://www.nbcnews.com/science/environment/how-hot-too-hot-humans-record-temperatures-rcna160261. |
| What if... | Note | Bibliography |
|---|---|---|
| 2 authors? | John Tarleton and John Wayne | Tarleton, John and John Wayne. |
| 3 authors? | John Tarleton, John Wayne, and Oscar P | Tarleton, John, John Wayne, and Oscar P. |
| 4-10 authors? | John Tarleton et al. | Tarleton, John, John Wayne, Oscar P, Jane Doe, and John Smith. |
| 10+ authors? | John Tarleton et al. | List the first seven authors followed by "et al." |
| an organization? | Tarleton State University | Tarleton State University. |
| no author? | "Traditions and History" | Tarleton State University |