Skip to Main Content

Reading: Early Childhood Literacy Field Implementation

Texas Bluebonnet Award

Each year, 20 books are chosen for the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List. Schools and libraries around the state participate in the program, encouraging students to read a minimum of five books from the list. In January, students vote for their favorite title. The author of the book receiving the most votes wins the Texas Bluebonnet Award (TBA) which is presented at the Texas Bluebonnet Award presentation held during the TLA Annual Conference in the spring. 

For more information, visit Texas Bluebonnet Award.

Texas Bluebonnet Award Winners

2022 Award Winner

The Oldest Student

2021 Award Winner

If I Built a School

2020 Award Winner


El Chupacabras

2019 Award Winner

Sergeant Reckless

2018 Award Winner

The Last Kids on Earth

2017 Award Winner

Roller Girl

2016 Award Winner

When the Beat was Born

2015 Award Winner

The Day the Crayons Quit

2014 Award Winner

Ten Rules You Absolutely Must Not Break

2013 Award Winner

Postcards from Camp