Skip to Main Content

Reading: Early Childhood Literacy Field Implementation

John Newbery Medal

Named after eighteenth century British bookseller John Newbery, this medal is awarded each year by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most prominent contribution to American literature for Children. 

For more information, visit the John Newbery Medal page. 

Newbery Medal Winners

2022 Medal Winner

The Last Cuentista

2021 Medal Winner

When You Trap a Tiger

2020 Medal Winner

New Kid

2019 Medal Winner

Merci Suarez Changes Gears

2018 Medal Winner

Hello, Universe

2017 Medal Winner

The Girl Who Drank the Moon

2016 Medal Winner

Last Stop on Market Street

2015 Medal Winner

The Crossover

2014 Medal Winner

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures

2013 Medal Winner

The One and Only Ivan