Skip to Main Content

Reading: Early Childhood Literacy Field Implementation

Coretta Scott King Award

Commemorating the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, and honoring the life of his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, this award is given each year to both an African American author and illustrator. This award highlights works that show an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. 

For more information, visit the Coretta Scott King Book Awards.

Award Winners

2022 Author Award Winner


2022 Illustrator Award Winner


2021 Author Award Winner

Before the Ever After

2021 Illustrator Award Winner

RESPECT The Life of Aretha Franklin

2020 Author Award Winner

New Kid

2020 Illustrator Award Winner

The Undefeated

2019 Author Award Winner

A Few Red Drops

2019 Illustrator Award Winner

The Stuff of Stars

2018 Author Award Winner

Piecing Me Together

2018 Illustrator Award Winner

Out of Wonder

2017 Author Award Winner


2017 Illustrator Award Winner

Radiant Child The Story of Young Artist Jean-Miche

2016 Author Award Winner

Gone Crazy in Alabama

2016 Illustrator Award Winner

Trombone Shorty

2015 Author Award Winner

Brown girl dreaming

2015 Illustrator Award Winner


2014 Author Award Winner

P.S. Be Eleven

2014 Illustrator Award Winner

Knock knock My Dad’s Dream for Me

2013 Author Award Winner

Hand in Hand Ten Black Men Who Changed America

2013 Illustrator Award Winner

I, Too, Am American